Phd co-supervision

  1. van Boxtel, S, 2023-present, Where is the West?
  2. Crcha, J, 2023-present, Externalisation of EU’s borders
  3. Garidou, P. 2021-present, The Greek tragedy of Moria, (forthcoming), Radboud University Nijmegen
  4. Paolo Cirillo, L., The art of bordering & the border art, (forthcoming), Radboud University Nijmegen
  5. Wagner P, 2018-present, Re-imagining the territorial trap, (forthcoming), Radboud University Nijmegen
  6. Pekelsma, S., 2013-2024, Gated Communities, The end of civilization or urban integration beyond the wall?, Radboud University Nijmegen
  7. Joren Jacobs: 2009-present, “Cross-border spatial development”, Radboud University Nijmegen
  8. Bueno Lacy, R., 2012-2020, In the image of Kronos or how Europe is devouring itself: The iconological construction of EUropean identity, its geopolitical implications for the project of European integration and why it needs to be re-imagined, Radboud University Nijmegen
  9. Aparna K. 2015-2020, Enacting Asylum University: Politics of Research Encounters and (Re)Producing Borders in Asylum Relations, Radboud University Nijmegen
  10. Pijnenburg, V., 2014-2019, Collaborative borderscaping in Dutch-German borderland. Towards a cross-border practice in spatial planning, Radboud University Nijmegen
  11. Inge Mutsaers 2009-2011, ”Immunisation in an era of globalisation, using the work of Peter Sloterdijk”, Radboud University Nijmegen
  12. Mariska van der Giessen: 2009-2014, “Coping with complexity.
    Cross-border cooperation between The Netherlands and Germany”, Radboud University Nijmegen
  13. Joris Schapendonk: 2007-2011, “Turbulent trajectories, Sub-Sahara migrants heading North”, Radboud University Nijmegen
  14. Ruben Gielis: 2005-stopped in 2012, “Transnationalism on the Dutch-German border”, Radboud University Nijmegen
  15. Freerk Boedeltje: 2004-2011,”Discontented Geopolitics of Other European Spaces, University of Joensuu (external advisor)
  16. Stefan Dormans, 2001-2008, “Narrating the city”, Radboud University Nijmegen
  17. Roos Pijpers: 2002-2007, “Between fear of masses and freedom of movement: migrant flexwork in the enlarged European Union”, Radboud University Nijmegen
  18. Nicole Ehlers, 1999-2007, “The binational city Eurode. The social legitimacy of a border-crossing town”, Radboud University Nijmegen
  19. Enza Lissandrello: 2002-2006, “The Utopia of Cross-border Regions”, Radboud University Nijmegen
  20. Anke Struver, 2000-2004, “Stories of the Boring Border: The Dutch-German Boundary in People’s Minds”, Radboud University Nijmegen

Opponent in Phd-Committee

  1. Richard Vogt, 2021, Macquarie University, Australia
  2. Dina Krichker, 2020, NUS, Singapore
  3. Frederico Alagna, 2020, Radboud University Nijmegen
  4. Bernd Bonfert, 2020, Radboud University Nijmegen
  5. Milou van Hout, 2020, University Amsterdam
  6. Jos van den Broek, 2018, Radboud University Nijmegen
  7. Malini Sur, 2012, University Amsterdam
  8. Anthony Cooper, 2012, Royal Holloway, University of London, UK (viva)
  9. Chris Breuer, 2011, Universiteit Twente
  10. Jaume Castan Pinos, 2010, Queens University Belfast, N-Ireland (viva)